THE WIFE’S CHOICE BY EMMA DAVIES – BOOK REVIEW

the Wife's choice by Emma Davies

ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

BOOK BLURB

Tell your most devastating secret, or risk losing your only daughter…

Then: Twenty years ago, Alys’ husband, Sam, was in a terrible car accident that left him fighting for his life. His recovery was slow and painful and, just at the point when Alys began to hope, he sent her away, refusing to see her ever again for reasons she could never understand.

Now: Married again and living in a new town with a new family, Alys feels like she’s sleepwalking through life. She’s just lost her job, her grown-up daughter is flying the nest, and her new husband doesn’t see – or even seem to care about – the downward spiral she is in.

But a chance encounter changes everything. As the life she could have had crashes into the one she settled for, Alys must decide whether or not to reveal the lie she’s been telling everyone all these years. Will it tear apart the ones she loves, or could it set them free?

An emotional, page-turning family drama about the difficult choices and sacrifices we make to protect the ones we love. Perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse, Kerry Fisher and Jodi Picoult.

THE WIFE’S CHOICE BY EMMA DAVIES – BOOK REVIEW

The description of The Wife’s Choice drew me in, when a book is described as “an emotional and totally unputtable family drama”, I had to read it. The book blurb also piqued my curiosity and I badly wanted to discover the devastating secret that could ruin Alys life.

It’s a remarkable story about a woman who finds herself again. A woman who decides to reclaim her life after sleepwalking through life for so many years.

I must say that the book description was misleading, at least from my perspective. After reading the book the only devastating secret that could tear their family apart was Hugh’s secret. Alys didn’t have any secret, she and Hugh came to an agreement as parents. In fact, it was Hugh who wanted “the secret” to be buried because of his insecurities and personal agenda.

Hugh’s secrets did tear the family apart.

The description of this book does it a great disservice, this book is more than a family drama, it’s more about a woman reclaiming her life, and there are so many powerful lessons to be picked from this novel. It’s not a light read.

At the end of this read, you are going to be questioning your life choices and asking yourself if you’ve done the best with your life or if you’ve rather settled with what was offered.

STAY TRUE TO YOUR AUTHENTIC SELF

OLIVIA SOSE

Personally I think the romance was a sweet undertone for the book rather than it’s main focus. Throughout the book we find Alys thinking about Sam and the love they shared before the tragic accident and their separation. I was rather focused on the beautiful transformation that is Alys life.

Another beautiful lesson I learnt from the book is that the safe choice isn’t always the best choice, sometimes we do need to go through fire to discover our full potential. A perfect example will be Sam, even if he did think that the accident was going to ruin his life, he came back as a refined Tom, he didn’t let anything come in between him and his life dreams and it makes me wonder if maybe it was because he is a man.

Do women give up on their dreams easily than men? Do women choose the easier path? These are questions that I will keep asking myself.

This book got me really worked up, I swore a lot while reading it (lol)

At the beginning of the book, the character I disliked most was Hugh but at the end of the book, I felt more pity than a dislike for him.

I absolutely love Nancy and Tash, my favorite girls. There’s plenty of “Women supporting Women” going on in this book, another reason why you should definitely get your own copy.

I also love how Alys constantly fought for Esme to live her dreams, I think she’s trying to compensate for the fact that she didn’t fight for her dreams.

You deserve to live your dreams.

Whenever you wake up to realize this, start living.

OLIVIA SOSE

Although I still do not understand how the title truly reflects on the book, The Wife’s Choice by Emma Davies is an absolutely superb read and it deserves a five star!!!!

Yes, you should get your own copy asap.

If you love something, let it go. If it returns, it’s yours; if it doesn’t, it wasn’t.

If you love someone, set them free. If they come back they’re yours; if they don’t they never were.