TWO WIDOWS BY LAURA WOLFE – BOOK REVIEW

Two Widows by Laura Wolfe

ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

SYNOPSIS

The body of an unidentified woman has been found on a local beach in northern Michigan. The police have no suspects.

Gloria is used to solitude. Widowed and still grieving her late husband, she spends her days with only her faded photographs for company. But when a young woman is murdered nearby, Gloria grows anxious. Living alone in old farmhouse, surrounded by empty woods, there’s no one for miles who would hear her scream.

When freelance travel writer Beth arrives with her trailer to live on Gloria’s land, Gloria is relieved not to be alone. The police have no suspects in the murder and fearless Beth makes Gloria feel safe. Then Gloria discovers Beth is a widow too: the women become closer and begin to share their secrets.

But soon Gloria starts to wonder… what does she actually know about Beth? About what brought her to this isolated spot? About how her husband really died? Is it a coincidence that she’s arrived just as this small town has seen its first murder in decades?

Gloria thought that Beth had told her all her secrets. She was wrong.

A deeply compelling suspense novel that will have you hooked, this is a gripping thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, The Couple Next Door and The Woman in the Window.

TWO WIDOWS BY LAURA WOLFE

RELEASE DATE: AUGUST 27, 2020

278 PAGES

PUBLISHER: BOOKOUTURE

I saw the synopsis of this book and I was like yeahhhhhh count me in, there’s murder, there are deadly secrets and this book promised to keep me awake all night; so yes, I want a bit of that pie.

When a book is described as “A totally gripping mystery and suspense novel” then yes I want it, sign me up.

This book also promised to be a delight for fans of “The Couple Next Door” and “The Woman in the Window”, my excitement was off the roof, I couldn’t wait to start reading.

The author used multiple POV, constantly switching between Gloria and Beth’s voice. Gloria’s voice shared recent happenings while Beth’s voice was a narration of the past. That way we were able to understand what happened in the past that led to recent happenings. Although the past majorly covered Beth’s story. This really helped the plot of the book progress naturally, I was never confused or lost at any point while reading the book, it has a very solid and beautiful plot.

There were several OMG moments in this book. I didn’t want to move, I just wanted to keep devouring the pages. It’s definitely a page-turner and sometimes your heart is going to be racing so fast at the discovery of new information, I had so many predictions and theories but they all flopped at the end.

And that’s where things begin to go wrong, towards the end of the story.

The end of the book felt rushed and my spirit was crushed. It seemed the author just wanted everything to end. This book started on a high note, “an unsolved murder’ and the author was able to sustain my interest until the end was revealed.

The end of the story was a tad bit disappointing, the revelation was not as thrilling as I had hoped for.

I love the character development in this book, watching Gloria become this strong woman who no longer needed validation from her Bible Study Group, she truly understood what love and friendship should be about.

Another character that I liked was Caroline and this even surprises me, she grew on me. The sisterly bond between her and Beth was something that warmed my heart.

I wanted to give Jason a hard knock on the head and I wished his character was explored more, I would have loved to see what was going on in that fraudulent head of his but I guess the author stuck to the title and focused on the two widows.

Crime, marriage, friendship, miscarriage, drug abuse were some of the themes explored in this novel.

I would recommend this book to other thriller lovers and I do hope they love the ending more than I did.

Is this something you will love to read? Do let me know what you think?